“When I Leave a Place, I Like to Know I’m Leaving”: Holden, Timelessness, and Changed Plans

False alarm, folks!  Thanks to some unforeseen changes in my schedule, I’m back in Chicago.  All that biz about guest posts and being off the radar for a while?  Ignore that…or postpone it in your brains for about two weeks.  I’ll be heading back to the South soon, but in the meantime I’ll be pestering you all with the first few flashes of my 30 for 30 items.  I’m taking a laid back approach to the challenge this time- wearing them like mad, but not feeling like I have to post like mad, too- but don’t be surprised when you see the same clothes appearing over and over again.  That’s the plan, anyway.  I can’t say that it won’t change.

When I Leave: skirt (vintage, thrifted, cheap), Catcher in the Rye tee (gift, Out of Print Clothing), sandals (Target, $7).

When I Leave: skirt (vintage, thrifted, cheap), Catcher in the Rye tee (gift, Out of Print Clothing), sandals (Target, $7), ring (c/o Lushae Jewelry).

You know who knows all about changed plans?  Holden Caulfield.  We have that in common (though not much else).  Despite having been an utterly angst-free teenager, I adore Catcher in the Rye.  Whether I was reading it in English class, on a bus in London, or stretched out under a tree in Namibia, Holden’s clever sarcasm and longing for innocence always moved me.  The timelessness of the story- one of  loss, confusion, and the need for closure (not to mention a fear of adulthood)- has meant that I appreciate it as much as 28 as I did at 16.  When my mom gave me this shirt last year, I couldn’t have been more nerd-style excited.  A merging of my brain with my style?  What could be better?!  This shirt fits like a dream, and I love it paired with this skirt.  I think the emotion of the story and the richness of the cover design stand out so well with the simplicity of the rest of the outfit.  For more tees of this sort, check out Out of Print Clothing or see how Tania has rocked hers.

These photos were taken as a sort of last hoorah with Clare, who has been my roommate for the past year.  As she moves on to new things and I move to my own place, we’re forced to say goodbye.  Thankfully, we got to do it with some closure, unlike Holden.  Thanks for a great year, Claiwe!!!

Sad faces w Clare.  Bye, Claiwe!

Sad faces w Clare. Bye, Claiwe!

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on ““When I Leave a Place, I Like to Know I’m Leaving”: Holden, Timelessness, and Changed Plans

  1. What the what???? I heard you were gone, now you’re back? We missed you on Saturday. Can we hang the week of July 11th?

  2. caffeinerd says:

    LOVE the shirt (&so great with the skirt)! I have Catcher in the Rye from the library right now as I realized that—while I read it and loved it in high school—I barely remember it anymore. Aww love the pic of you and Clare. Good luck moving!

  3. lisa says:

    hooray, youre back! M and I were recently discussing how we’d only read Catcher in the Rye in high school, and need to re-read. if this isnt a sign that it’s time to grab it off the bookshelf, i dont know what is! that T is suuu-weeet. esp paired with that skirt of awesomeness.

  4. RaHow says:

    What an adorable outfit. Love that t-shirt paired with the long skirt. So cute.

  5. The DayLeigh says:

    Totally love this skirt with the shirt. Awesome!

  6. Dana says:

    I am so insanely jealous! That is one of my favorite books and it looks super sweet as a Tee. I really wanted the needlepoint “book” clutch, but it was a bit out of my price range. Good luck on the change of plans!

  7. This is a fabulous outfit – I love how you styled the t-shirt! Really inspiring!

  8. Anna G. says:

    I just bought a shirt from OoP on your reccomendation. I can’t wait to see it on!! If it looks half as good as yours I’ll be so happy!

  9. I love your skirt – and the top too of course! How could I resist!

    x
    Lost in the Haze

  10. Katie says:

    I love tshirts with skirts. Just love them. I need more tshirts in my life.

    The photos of you in front of the water? Just gorgeous.

  11. MONKEYFACE says:

    You are beautiful. Seriously, just gorgeous. And I’m not just saying that b/c I’m 4th of this month drunk like…a drunk person right now, but because you just ARE. These pictures are amazing. Drunk comments are the best kind of comments. Stop me please I have a problem. With commenting, not drinking. Exclamation points!!!!

  12. Victoria / Justice Pirate says:

    The combination of the skirt with the shirt is amazing. You look lovely and I think this skirt rocks.

  13. Ellen says:

    I adore Holden, too. And this shirt! And your picturrs the most!

  14. Diane Crews says:

    Changed plans can lead to some beautiful photos. We will be seeing you soon again though, and I am so glad.
    We will all be home this time at once.
    The water makes me want to dive in and cool off….its Pea Soup in the South again.
    Good luck to Claire on her move.

  15. Kyla says:

    I’m so sad that the greatest blogger commune ever is dispelling. BOOOO!!! BUT, I’m loving your t-shirt, midi skirt, flat sandal combo you’ve been doing. It’s just so perfect – comfy, laid-back, and unique with that dressed-up boho kind of vibe. Wow, that was quite a description …

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

