Biblical Plagues, Victorian Hookers, and Hipster Oliver Twist: Outfits #13-#16 of 30

Dear Peoples,

I’ve been sticking to this 30 for 30 business pretty religiously (I use the term loosely), but I’ve been a bit of a sinner with regards to the photo posting aspect of the challenge.  A la Biblical Egypt I’ve recently suffered several plagues- those of darkness (okay, that’s not unique to me), a wonky camera, and obligations x 1000.  Thankfully in these plagues there were no locusts or rivers of blood.  Plagues or not, I have gotten at least one shot of all my outfits.  Enjoy them, such as they are.

Outfit 13: I wish I had more than one photo of this outfit, because I adored it.  I’m what you might call an acolyte of the Stripes and Florals Cult and this particular combo was perfectly in line with cult dogma.

Outfit #13: skirt (Urban Outfitters, $10), striped top (U0, $20), cardigan (H&M, $12), tights (Filene's Basement, $7), boots (random, $30), belt (Anthropologie, $32).

Outfit #13: skirt (Urban Outfitters, $10), striped top (U0, $20), cardigan (H&M, $12), tights (Filene's Basement, $7), boots (random, $30), belt (Anthropologie, $32).

Outfit 14: This is what we might call my Hipster Oliver Twist look.  Just imagine me saying, “Please sir, could I have some more irony?”  Hipsters always want more irony, especially when they’re stealing (ahem, I mean drawing inspiration from) ideas from Oliver Twist.  Also, for the record, Oliver Twist did not drink PBR.  Nor did he wear a kafiya, as ripping off Islam/international crises was not then in vogue.

Outfit 14: jeans (thrifted, $3), striped tee (UO, $20), cardigan (H&M, $22), scarf (c/o Lara Miller), hat (H&M, $12), boots (Target, $15).

Outfit 14: jeans (thrifted, $3), striped tee (UO, $20), cardigan (H&M, $22), scarf (c/o Lara Miller), hat (H&M, $12), boots (Target, $15).

Looking more like The Exorcist than a charming English urchin.

Looking more like The Exorcist than a charming English urchin.

Outfit 15: Again, only one photo.  And again, major sadness, because I adored this look, too.  While I admit that to some I might look like a Victorian hooker who crawled right out of bed, went hunting, and wrapped herself up in her kill, I’m okay with that.  Because I felt pretty blood cool in my dead animal, lace-on-lace get-up.

Outfit 15: lace skirt (Target, $4), lace top (Charlotte Russe, $10), tank (mmm...?), tights (Filene's Basement, $7), boots (random, $30), fur (thrifted).

Outfit 15: lace skirt (Target, $4), lace top (Charlotte Russe, $10), tank (mmm...), tights (Filene's Basement, $7), boots (random, $30), fur (thrifted).

Outfit 16: And finally, Oliver Olivia Twist is BACK, but this time he she can read!  And he she like sexy ladies who can read, too!  Here I’m less of a hipster urchin and more of an urchin intellectual with a slightly naughty side (and who doesn’t love those?).  Also, my excuse for repeatedly wearing this hat and scarf is that in my urchin poverty I can afford nothing further.  So there.  :)

Outfit 15: jeans (thrifted, $3), "Show Your Books Some Love" tee (gift from m'bestie), cardigan (H&M, $22), scarf (c/o Lara Miller), hat (H&M, $12).

Outfit 15: jeans (thrifted, $3), "Show Your Books Some Love" tee (gift from m'bestie), cardigan (H&M, $22), scarf (c/o Lara Miller), hat (H&M, $12), boots (Target, $15).

Here I'm more of a medieval peasant- or maybe a Rasta?- than an intellectual urchin.

I look like such a goofball!! Here I'm more of a medieval peasant- or maybe a Rasta?- than an intellectual urchin.

I show my books so much love I think we're co-dependent.

I show my books so much love I think we're co-dependent.

Disclaimer: This post is in no way to suggest that I am the chosen person/of the chosen people or that I’m the enemy of the chosen people or, in fact, that there’s anyone to choose the chosen people.   Nor am I suggesting I’m a devotee of Haile Selassie.  Or that I’m NOT a devotee of Haile Selassie.  Being a religious studies nerd, I just sometimes like to use references to religious myth and literature.  Hope you can dig.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

23 thoughts on “Biblical Plagues, Victorian Hookers, and Hipster Oliver Twist: Outfits #13-#16 of 30

  1. Well, you definitely make up for not posting outfits regularly with posts like this. LOVE LOVE LOVE the first one: best stripes & floral I’ve seen in a while! Also really like how you write, always so fun to read.

  2. I am overwhelmed by the awesomeness of this post and these outfits. It’s not every day that someone throws down with the Haile Selassie references.

  3. Matt says:

    Hi, I’ve been reading your blog for a bit but never commented until now! I hope its okay for me to comment! Sorry to hear about your plagues of biblical proportion! But I do love these outfits! Super cute!! 13 is fantastic, and 15 is just fabulous! And your descriptions of these outfits are too awesome!! :)

    • Emily says:

      Hey, Matt. Happy to have your reading and, of course, commenting! Please come back any time and definitely leave your thoughts and opinions when you do. It’s great to hear from readers who’ve been lurking. :)

  4. Linda W says:

    Wait. You are not the chosen one? Are you sure?
    I love the commentary on this post. How you worked in Haile Selassie, Oliver Twist, hipsters, and plagues in one post is impressive.
    I am happy to see you back blogging – and back with a vengeance…that floral/strip combo is fantastic! I hope your work load lightens up soon. I’ve missed reading your clever commentary on my blog.
    The Auspicious Life

  5. Lisa says:

    can i have some more irony?! bwuahaha!

    ahhhhh emily, i am in LOVE with your victorian hussie look! the layered laces with the fur = PERFECTION! i am stealing this look! dying!

  6. Clare says:

    You do hipster really well. In an ironic way, of course, since no hipster would want to eat porridge like a British street urchin. Or be all smart and bookish like you are.

    Oh, and I hope you dress like a Victorian hooker more often. It WORKS for you, woman. And though it is sad that you only have one picture of it, it is a truly incredible picture, in which you look STUNNING.

    Also, I think you just might be a chosen person. I mean, of course, a person who I chose, just now, as someone who is awesome (actually I chose that a long time ago). Anyway, own your chosen-ness, woman!

  7. kimdny2 says:

    I must agreee, your inspiration is inspirational!

  8. Jess says:

    I’m not sure which one I like most. I like them all, I think! I do love that you wrote about Oliver Twist, the Bible, and hookers all in one post. I thnk you’re probably cooler than all those things put together. Is it bad to say that someone is cooler than the Bible? Oh well! I love that fur, by the way. Where did you get it?

  9. Aliyah says:

    Victorian hookers! HAH HAH! I wish I looked like a Victorian hooker more often if this is what they look like. But weren’t you freezing? Chicago has to be so cold now!

  10. jentine says:

    #13 with a side of Biblical references please. Knowledge and pattern mixing skills are good things to have.

  11. paige says:

    you rock my world.

    that is all.

    ps. love the hipster references. i’m surrounded by them out here in LA. meh. (although, that is not to imply that i like or dislike hipsters. just sayin…)

  12. Rlutz says:

    you are so freaking funny!! My favorite outfit has got to be the victorian hooker!

  13. I’m still in love with the first skirt you’re wearing! And I really like your use of the ubiquitous lace skirt — it looks really sweet but modern paired with other lace items and your boots!

  14. Becca says:

    I like outfit 13 a whole lot, it has so much great stuff going on, but somehow it still all goes together! Also, I totally can empathize with the world ganging up on you when it comes to outfit photos. Esp now that it’s cold and dark, I’m finding it harder and harder to get out there and get pictures. Plus, I’m taking fewer because I’m cold, so I have fewer photos to choose from. It’s a bad cycle!

  15. DannyOcean says:

    This was ridiculously funny to read. I loved all of these outfits and it’s awesome that you are sticking through the Challenge diligently while going through some plagues of your own.

    Also, can I be in the Stripes and Florals Cult with you? We can wear flowers in our hair and chant about Breton stripes.

  16. Iris says:

    I love all the outfits especially 14 and 16. Maybe that’s just because I’ll be heading to bed soon and you look super comfy :)

  17. Kelly says:

    All these outfits are awesome! My favorite is the lace-on-lace-with-fur-collar getup.

  18. Emily says:

    Thanks to all of those who chose me. I feel comfortable calling myself a chosen one now. :)

  19. Emily says:

    Bua! I’ve forgotten how funny this post is! “Oliver Twist did not drink PBR!” “I’ve recently suffered several plagues!” Bua!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

